On October 22, 2015, the European Commission announced that it had referred the Czech Republic, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Sweden to the Court of Justice of the EU for failing to transpose the BRRD into national legislation. The BRRD was due to be transposed by all EU Member States by December 31, 2014. The referral follows a request in May 2015 by the Commission to 11 Member States, including the above six Member States, to fully implement the BRRD.

The press release is available at: http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-15-5057_en.htm.