The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee considered three nominations on September 17: Ron Binz to serve as Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Elizabeth Robinson to serve as Under Secretary of Energy, and Michael Connor to be Deputy Interior Secretary. The majority of the hearing focused on Binz’s nomination, with several of the members questioning his stances on coal, combined heat and power, renewable energy standards, and transmission costs. Following the hearing, many members of the committee—including Ranking Member Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV)—said they would vote against Binz. Deputy White House Press Secretary Josh Earnest said the administration stood by the nomination.