From 1 January 2015, European patents filed in English language and designating Norway can be validated at a reduced cost by filing a copy of the granted claims in Norwegian, since Norway has joined the London Agreement. Norway thus joins its Scandinavian cousins Iceland, Sweden, Finland and Denmark in facilitating validation of European patents by reducing translation requirements and costs.

The London Agreement aims to reduce the translation costs of European patents granted under the European Patent Convention.

Furthermore, national patent applications in Norway, either filed directly or via the PCT, can equally be filed in English, and the applicant can ask that all correspondence in relation to the application, also during examination, be conducted in English. The patent claims, once accepted and deemed allowable, however, will still need to be translated into Norwegian before the patent can then be granted.

The Kingdoms of Sweden and Denmark had already implemented similar measures in July 2014, in that the entire patenting process can be conducted in English and using an English specification; translation of the claims into Swedish/Danish is only required after allowance and to finalise the grant process.

In Iceland and Finland it is equally possible to file the application in English and request correspondence be conducted in English, but the claims and abstract must be provided in Icelandic and Finish for publication purposes, and thus usually before examination.

Finally, it is also worthwhile remembering that the patent offices of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland and the Nordic Patent Institute are all participants in the Global Patent Prosecution Highway (GPPH) program, as is the case with the Australian Patent Office (IPAU). Thus, Australian patent applicants can request fast-track processing of their national patent applications (or PCT-derived applications) in these Scandinavian countries (as well as other participating IP Offices), based on a first positive examination report issued by any of the IP authorities participating in the GPPH scheme.