CIC has issued a list of countries that starting September 2013, will require their nationals to make in-person appearances to collect fingerprints and photographs for temporary resident visa, study permit, and work permit applicants. The countries and proposed start dates for the mandatory collection of biometric data are:

  1. September 2, 2013, for nationals of Colombia, Haiti and Jamaica;
  2. October 15, 2013, for nationals of Albania, Algeria, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Libya, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Tunisia; and
  3. December 7, 2013, for nationals of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Laos, Lebanon, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Syria, Vietnam, Yemen, and Palestinian Authority.