The Clean Water Act, 2006, which requires local communities to protect the sources of drinking water, entered into force on July 3, 2007.

On the same day, the first five regulations under the Act entered into force. These are:

(1) Source Protection Areas and Regions (O. Reg. 284/07)

(2) Source Protection Committees (O. Reg. 288/07)

(3) Terms of Reference (O. Reg. 287/07)

(4) Time Limits (O. Reg. 285/07)

(5) Miscellaneous (O. Reg. 286/07)

Further information is available at: ?noticeId=MTAwMTI4&statusId=MTUwNzMy&language=en