Members of the IAM at 800 local lodges in the United States and Canada voted in a mandatory special election to reelect incumbent leadership candidates. R. Thomas Buffenbarger, the incumbent candidate for international president, earned 23,345 votes, to reform candidate Jay Kronk’s 11,163 votes. Incumbent general secretary-treasurer Robert Roach Jr. defeated Dale Cancienne by a similar margin of 23,828 to 10,690. The reform candidates have submitted a protest to the Department of Labor, alleging that the incumbents used union funds to support their campaign.