In the October 2007 edition of Venable’s IP News and Comment, the adaptation of the London Agreement by France and advantages to patent applicants in Europe were described. (See, page 9) On October 9, 2007, France’s National Assembly adopted the London Agreement, setting the stage for significant reductions in European translation requirements. France, Germany, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Slovenia, Sweden and Denmark have now either ratified or acceded to the London Agreement.

For a description of the potential cost saving for patentees, see the October 2007 article.