The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has posted a fact sheet on the durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS) accreditation provisions of the Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA), including the provisions related to exemption of certain providers from the accreditation requirements. MIPPA section 154(b) exempts certain professionals from the accreditation requirement unless CMS determines the quality standards are specifically designed to apply to such professionals. Under this provision, CMS is exempting the following professionals: physicians; physical therapists; occupational therapists; qualified speech-language pathologists; physician assistants; nurse practitioners; clinical nurse specialists; certified registered nurse anesthetists; certified nurse-midwives; clinical social workers; clinical psychologists; registered dietitians; nutritional professionals; orthotists; prosthetists; opticians; and audiologists. In addition, MIPPA mandates that all existing non-exempt DMEPOS suppliers be accredited as meeting DMEPOS quality standards by September 30, 2009 (new suppliers have been required to be accredited before applying for enrollment since March 1, 2008). To ensure time for accreditation organizations to process the applications, CMS is directing suppliers to submit a complete accreditation application to an approved accreditation organization by January 31, 2009. On October 14, 2008, CMS is hosting an on-site conference at CMS headquarters in Baltimore for non-accredited DMEPOS suppliers to provide technical guidance on how to comply with the DMEPOS quality standards. In a related development, CMS announced on a September 3, 2008 Open Door Forum that it intends to issue a proposed rule next year establishing new supplier standards for Medicare providers of orthotics and prosthetics.