On 20 June 2013, the European Chemicals Agency (“ECHA”) agreed to add six substances of very high concern (SVHC) to the “Candidate List” under the REACH Regulation. These substances are as follows: cadmium, cadmium oxide, ammonium pentadecafluorooctanoate (APFO), pentadecafluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), Dipentyl phthalate (DPP) and 4-Nonylphenol. Substances on the “Candidate List” can eventually end up on the “Authorisation List” under Annex XIV of the REACH Regulation, which means that any undertaking wanting to use such substances after a set date must seek approval.

The ECHA’s press release in relation to this development is available via the following link:

http://echa.europa.eu/view-article/-/journal_content/title/echa-updates-thecandidate- list-for-authorisation-with-six-new-substances-of-very-high-concernsvhcs-   

On 24 June 2013, the ECHA opened a public consultation seeking comments in relation to its draft recommendation to include a further six substances in the authorisation list under the REACH Regulation. The ECHA prioritised the substances from the Candidate List to be included in in the Authorisation List. The prioritisation is based on the available information on intrinsic properties, uses and volumes of the substances in the scope of authorisation. The substances which the ECHA has prioritised are as follows: zirconia aluminosilicate refractory ceramic fibres (Zr-RCF), aluminosilicate refractory ceramic fibres (Al-RCF), diazene-1,2-dicarboxamide, 4-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)phenol, ethoxylated (4- tert-OPnEO) and N,N-dimethylformamide (DMF). The deadline for submitting comments is 13 September 2013.  

The ECHA’s press release opening the public consultation is available via the following link: http://echa.europa.eu/addressing-chemicals-ofconcern/ authorisation/recommendation-for-inclusion-in-the-authorisation-list