The Democratic Steering Committee approved committee assignments December 12, retaining Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA) as chair of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee for the 113th Congress. There have been speculations that Senator Boxer would leave the committee to become chair of the Foreign Relations Committee if Senator John Kerry (D-MA) resigns from the Senate to accept a position in the administration, but Senator Boxer has said that she would not consider leaving her current chairmanship. Though Republicans have not yet announced their committee assignments, Senator David Vitter (R-LA) will take over the committee’s ranking member position, as Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK) is term limited.