The Government of Alberta announced on December 19 that the four key regulations that set out Alberta's intensity-based greenhouse gas regulation program, the Specified Gas Emitters Regulation, the Specified Gas Reporting Regulation, the Administrative Penalty Regulation, and the Climate Change and Emissions Management Fund Administration Regulation, will be extended until the end of June, 2015.

The government stated that the extra time is required to continue its thorough analysis of options for the new climate change framework.

Until the change, all four regulations were set to expire on December 31, 2014. 

For further information, see the Alberta Government website.