On 7 July, the P5+1 (the US, UK, France, China, Russia and Germany), the EU, and Iran mutually agreed to extend the temporary sanctions relief granted to Iran pursuant to the November 2013 Joint Plan of Action (“JPOA”) outlining the framework for the continuing negotiations between the parties. The extension of the JPOA sanctions relief, which was due to expire on 7 July 2015, became effective on 8 July 2015 and will now expire on 10 July 2015, so that negotiations concerning a comprehensive solution to Iran’s nuclear programme can continue.

This is the fourth extension to the JPOA sanctions relief, following the recent extension from 30 June 2015 until 7 July 2015.

The US Treasury has issued guidance on the most recent JPOA sanctions relief extension