Michael McRaith, Director of the Illinois Division of Insurance, has been named by Treasury Secretary Geithner to be the initial Director of the new Federal Insurance Office, which was created last year by the Dodd-Frank Act. Director McRaith spent 15 years in private practice in Chicago prior to being appointed as Director of the Illinois Division of Insurance in 2005. Among his clients while in private practice were financial institutions, including insurance companies. He has been active in the NAIC, presently serving as secretary-treasurer. He has served as chair and vice-chair of the NAIC’s Property and Casualty Insurance (C) Committee. Director McRaith will serve as a non-voting member of the Financial Stability Oversight Council. Significantly for our readers, both Director McRaith and Missouri Insurance Director John Huff (a non-voting member of the FSOC appointed by the NAIC) have been members of the NAIC’s Reinsurance Task Force. The “insurance expert” voting member of the FSOC remains to be appointed by President Obama.