The Economic Community of West African States (“ECOWAS”) is supporting a movement of reforms in view of reinforcing the political and economic integration of the Member States. In effect, after having recently adopted a common external tariff in March 2013, ECOWAS has been the object of a new reform, this time institutional.

On 23 January 2014, ECOWAS organized a special meeting of ministers from member countries to discuss an institutional reform project, in accordance with the recommendations of the 43rd Ordinary Session of the Conference of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS. In order to strengthen the capacities of ECOWAS and ensure the participation of each of the fifteen Member States of the organization, it was decided, in particular, to increase the number of Members of the Commission from 9 to 15.

On February 24, 2014, ECOWAS opened a ministerial meeting for the adoption of the Community Development Program, which proposes a regional strategy for long-term development in the fifteen Member States. After this meeting, recommendations will be made and will be the object of a subsequent adoption by the Conference of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS.