On 15 August, Norway adopted new restrictive measures against Russia in response to the ongoing crisis in Eastern Ukraine.  Norway’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Børge Brende stated, “The situation in Eastern Ukraine is getting worse every day. It is vital that the international community stands  united in its response to Russia’s action.”

The new measures, enacted with immediate effect under Forskrift 2014-08-15-1076, mirror the sector-wide sanctions introduced by the EU on 31 July. In addition, Norway’s list of individuals and entities subject to asset-freeze measures and travel restrictions was expanded to include a further eight individuals and 12 entities, bringing it in line with the EU’s sanctions list.

For further information on the EU’s sector-wide restrictive measures, please see our Client Update of 31 July.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Press Release Forskrift 2014-08-15-1076 (Norwegian) Client Update - 31 July