The U.S. Courts of Appeal hear appeals from federal district courts in their assigned states, or as otherwise specified below:

First Circuit: Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island, and Puerto Rico.

Second Circuit: Connecticut, New York, and Vermont.

Third Circuit: Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

Fourth Circuit: Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Fifth Circuit: Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.

Sixth Circuit: Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee.

Seventh Circuit: Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin.

Eighth Circuit: Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

Ninth Circuit: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington (state), Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Tenth Circuit: Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming.

Eleventh Circuit: Alabama, Florida, and Georgia.

District of Columbia Circuit: (Hmm . . .what do you think?)

Federal Circuit: (Handles patent cases, and other specialized cases that we don’t need to worry about on this blog.)