Only seven EU Member States (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Malta, Sweden and the UK) notified the Commission of measures to fully implement the new EU telecoms rules into domestic legislation by 25 May 2011, the deadline set by the EU Parliament and the Council of the European Union.

These new rules give rights to businesses and consumers in relation to phones, mobile services and internet access, and include: the right to better protection of online personal data; the right to more clarity about services offered; and the right to switch telecoms operators in just one day without changing phone number.

The Commission has sent letters of formal notice to the remaining twenty Member States, to which they have two months to reply with notification of full implementation measures. If the Member States fail to reply or if the Commission is not satisfied with the response from the Member States, the Commission can send the Member States concerned a formal request to implement the legislation (a 'reasoned opinion' under EU infringement procedures) and in the event of continued default, refer the Member State to the Court of Justice of the European Union.