The Department of Merchant Shipping has recently issued an updated list of countries whose certificates of competency are recognised by Cyprus under the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers 1978, as amended. The only change from the previous list, issued by the department in March 2011, is that Morocco is no longer under evaluation by the European Commission for accession to the convention.

The complete list is now as follows - Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia & Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States and Vietnam.

Of these, Bangladesh, Cape Verde, Egypt, Ghana, Japan and Nigeria are currently undergoing assessment by the European Commission.

For further information on this topic please contact Costas Stamatiou at Andreas Neocleous & Co LLC by telephone (+357 25 110 000), fax (+357 25 110 001) or email ([email protected]).