The BVI government recently announced that it has signed a tax information exchange agreement with the Czech Republic.(1) On June 13 the deputy premier of the British Virgin Islands, Ruth Dancia Penn QC, signed the agreement with the first deputy minister of the Czech Republic, Ladislav Minčič, in Prague.

This is the 22nd agreement concluded by the British Virgin Islands. The other jurisdictions with which the British Virgin Islands has concluded such agreements are Ireland, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Curaçao, St Maarten and Aruba, the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, France, the Nordic Alliance of Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Iceland, the Faroe Islands and Greenland, China, India, Germany, Portugal and the Czech Republic.

For further information on this topic please contact Richard Peters or Aki Corsoni-Husain at Harney Westwood & Riegels by telephone (+1 284 494 2233), fax (+1 284 494 3547) or email ([email protected] or [email protected]).


(1) To read the BVI government press release, visit