Results 1 to 5 of 44

Ransomware payments under English law: key considerations for stakeholders

United Kingdom - November 28 2022 Ransomware attacks continue to surge from the levels seen just a few years ago and the threat such attacks present against companies and…

Ana Hadnes Bruder, Meredith L. Lussier, Findley Penn-Hughes, Mark A. Prinsley, Reece Randall, Chris Roberts, David A. Simon, Oliver Yaros

The English Court of Appeal finds that accepting non-contractual performance would have overcome a force majeure event

United Kingdom - November 9 2022 In this update we discuss the English Court of Appeal's judgment in MUR Shipping BV v RTI Ltd [2022] EWHC 467 (Comm), which was handed down on 27…

Jonathan Cohen, Hormis Kallarackel, Miles Robinson

NIS2 Directive New Cybersecurity Rules Expected in the EU

European Union - October 6 2022 The European Council and European Parliament recently reached a provisional agreement on the text for the EU's proposed Directive on minimum…

Ana Hadnes Bruder, Findley Penn-Hughes, Mark A. Prinsley, Reece Randall, David A. Simon, Dr. Ulrich Worm, Oliver Yaros

Energy Charter Treaty will be modernised to support hydrogen investments and the energy transition

European Union - September 6 2022 In June 2022, the Energy Charter Treaty ("ECT") Contracting Parties reached agreement, in principle, on the modernisation of the ECT. One key…

Luiz Aboim, Raid Abu-Manneh, Gustavo Fernandes de Andrade, José Caicedo, Lisa Dubot, Airlie Goodman, Caroline von Götz, Michael P. Lennon Jr., Dany Khayat, Kirsti Massie, Rachael O’Grady, Alejandro López Ortiz, Kwadwo Sarkodie, Thais Stella, Yu-Jin Tay, Tom Wild

Global International Arbitration Update: January - June 2022

Global - July 20 2022 U.S. Supreme Court issues its long-awaited 1782 decision and Brazil issues a new Ordinance specifying arbitrator nomination criteria for proceedings…

Luiz Aboim, Raid Abu-Manneh, Bill Amos, Gustavo Fernandes de Andrade, Fábio Peixinho Gomes Correa, Alain Farhad, James R. Ferguson, Menachem M. Hasofer, Ulrich Helm, B. Ted Howes, Charles E. Harris, II, Michael P. Lennon Jr., Dany Khayat, Dr. Jan Kraayvanger, Mei Ling Lew, Rachael O’Grady, Alejandro López Ortiz, Kwadwo Sarkodie, Gustavo Scheffer da Silveira, Yu-Jin Tay, Paul Teo, Kay-Jannes Wegner