Results 1 to 5 of 47

Third Circuit Adopts “Reasonable Reader” Standard for Evaluating Whether a Credit Report Is Inaccurate or Misleading

USA - August 9 2022 What standard should courts use to determine whether information contained in a consumer’s credit report is inaccurate or misleading? According to…

David N. Anthony, Timothy "Tim" J. St. George, David M. Gettings, Cindy D. Hanson, Ronald I. Raether Jr., Ethan G. Ostroff

Fourth Circuit Holds Merely Sending Notice of Rescission Under TILA Does Not Effect Rescission — the Borrower Must Tender

USA - July 15 2022 In a July 15 published decision, the Fourth Circuit reversed a West Virginia District Court’s ruling against a mortgage servicer in a purported class…

Megan Burns, Jason E. Manning

Fourth Circuit Clarifies What Constitutes a QWR Under RESPA

USA - February 25 2022 On February 22, the Fourth Circuit clarified in a published opinion what communications constitute a qualified written request (QWR) under the Real…

Kim R. Gershen, Kathleen M. Knudsen, Jason E. Manning, Allison A. Melton, S. Mohsin Reza, Gillian Williston

Eleventh Circuit Throws Debt Collectors Under the FDCPA Bus for Sharing Account Information with Letter Vendors

USA - May 5 2021 In a panel decision on April 21, the Eleventh Circuit held that a consumer had standing to bring a claim under the Fair Debt Collection Practices…

Leah Tedford, Kathleen M. Knudsen, Jason E. Manning, Ethan G. Ostroff

A Chainsaw, Rather than a Scalpel: Supreme Court Holds Telephony Must Include Random or Sequential Number Generator to Qualify as ATDS under TCPA

USA - April 1 2021 In a unanimous decision, the U.S. Supreme Court decided Duguid v. Facebook, finding once and for all that an automatic telephone dialing system (ATDS)…

David N. Anthony, Brooke K. Conkle, Virginia Bell Flynn, Chad R. Fuller, David M. Gettings, Ethan G. Ostroff, James K. Trefil, Misha Tseytlin