Results 1 to 5 of 73

Supreme Court Holds FAA Preempts California Prohibition on Waiver of Joint PAGA Claims

USA - June 23 2022 On June 15, 2022, the Supreme Court held in Viking River Cruises v. Moriana that a rule of California law that prohibits contractual waivers of…

H. Christopher Boehning, Geoffrey R. Chepiga, Gregory F. Laufer, Randy Luskey, Kannon K. Shanmugam, Daniel J. Toal

New York City Amends Salary Disclosure Law and Delays Its Effective Date to November 1, 2022

USA - May 12 2022 On January 15, 2022, New York City amended the New York City Human Rights Law to require employers to include the minimum and maximum salary when…

Allan J. Arffa, David W. Brown, Jay Cohen, Michele Hirshman, Brad S. Karp, Maria Helen Keane, Jean M. McLoughlin, Leah J. Park, Lawrence I. Witdorchic

Supreme Court Holds That Emotional Distress Damages Are Not Recoverable under Spending Clause Statutes

USA - May 4 2022 On April 28, 2022, the Supreme Court held in Cummings v. Premier Rehab Keller that damages for emotional distress are not available in the implied…

H. Christopher Boehning, Aimee W. Brown, Gregory F. Laufer, Randy Luskey, Jessica E. Phillips, Elizabeth M. Sacksteder, Kannon K. Shanmugam

Congress Passes Bill Invalidating Mandatory Arbitration and Joint-Action Waivers for Sexual Harassment and Sexual Assault Claims

USA - March 10 2022 On March 3, 2022, President Biden signed into law the Ending Forced Arbitration of Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment Act of 2021 (the “Act”)…

David W. Brown, David Curran, Lissette A. Duran, Andrew L. Gaines, Jeh Charles Johnson, Brad S. Karp, Maria Helen Keane, Loretta E. Lynch, Jean M. McLoughlin, Leah J. Park, Madhuri Pavamani, Rachel Rosenberg, Lawrence I. Witdorchic

DOJ Provides Guidance on Antitrust Analysis of Employee Non-Compete Agreements

USA - March 7 2022 In a recent statement of interest filed in a Nevada state court litigation, the Department of Justice (DOJ) set forth its current views on…

Robert A. Atkins, Joseph J. Bial, Andrew C. Finch, Daniel J. Howley, Maria Helen Keane, William B. Michael, Jared P. Nagley, Jacqueline P. Rubin, Charles F. (Rick) Rule, Joshua H. Soven, Aidan Synnott