Google has expanded its Safe Browsing protection to block deceptive or social engineering embedded content. The update is provided subsequent to Google's former announcement on this matter in addition to its policy of escalating the enforcement against “unwanted software” and social engineering.

The Policy applies to any embedded content which pretends to act, look and feel, like a trusted source (such as the user's own browser or the website itself); or tries to trick the user into doing something he would not have done if he had known the actual source behind the content (such as downloading phony “updates” embedded in ads, or sharing his user names and passwords).

Google's Safe Browsing systems will warn users, through the standard "Red Warning" page, from navigating to sites that were flagged as hosting deceptive or social engineering embedded content.