Tennessee’s breach notice law amendment becomes effective today (July 1, 2016). As we previously wrote, under the amended provisions, companies have 45 days from the discovery of a breach to notify impacted individuals (unless more time is needed “due to the legitimate needs of law enforcement”). Vendors who maintain personal information on behalf of their clients also now have 45 days “from when the breach became known” by the vendor to tell their clients of the breach.

TIP: As with our tip regarding the Rhode Island law update that went into effect earlier this week, companies should keep in mind these 45 day notice triggers, and can also review the modifications to Tennessee’s law here.