H.B. 300 goes into effect on September 1, 2012, adding requirements for Texas healthcare providers and those who treat Texas residents. Notably, Texas healthcare providers are required to ensure that their workforce receives privacy training at least once every two years and within 60 days of new hire. Documentation of this training is required. Covered entities must respond to a patient's request for their electronic health record within 15 days of receiving the request. The statute also increases the monetary penalties for unauthorized disclosure of protected health information and failure to notify affected individuals.
Texas healthcare providers are encouraged to update their business associate agreements, policies and procedures and workforce training programs to reflect the new law. For more details regarding H.B. 300, please see the August 4, 2011, issue of the Health Law Update.