The remaining public holidays for 2015 are:

  • Human Rights Day, Saturday 21 March
  • Good Friday, Friday 3 April
  • Family Day, Monday 6 April
  • Freedom Day, Monday 27 April
  • Workers’ Day, Friday 1 May
  • Youth Day, Tuesday 16 June
  • National Women’s Day, Sunday 9 August
  • Public Holiday, Monday 10 August
  • Heritage Day, Thursday 24 September
  • Day of Reconciliation, Wednesday 16 December
  • Christmas Day, Friday 25 December
  • Day of Goodwill, Saturday 26 December
  • New Year's Day, Friday 1 January 2016

National Women's Day on Sunday 9 August 2015, is the only public holiday that falls on a Sunday. Monday 10 August 2015 becomes an additional public holiday in terms of the Public Holidays Act, No 36 of 1994. Two consecutive public holidays, as opposed to one, impact on working arrangements and shifts. Employers need to consider and plan in advance for such an occasion. Collective agreements and Bargaining Council Collective agreements may also govern public holidays, working arrangements and shifts.

There is bad news for employees who are on strike on public holidays – they are not entitled to any remuneration as they would not have 'ordinarily worked' on any day of the strike, including the public holiday.

Employers can expect requests for additional days off on Monday 15 June 2015 and Friday 25 September 2015. Employers are advised to timeously make arrangements with employees who wish to take extra days off to work in those days.